Gym costs
Planet Fitness membership cost in the US
From $15.00 a month, ranked 4 of 12 gyms with a published price.
| Plan | Monthly | Annual fee | Joining fee | Year one (12 mo) | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic Card (starting at) | $15.00 | $49.00 | Not listed | $229.00 | 10-K: 'monthly membership dues starting at only $15 to new members for our standard Classic Card'; 'current standard annual fees of $49'; 'enrollment fees of $0 to $59' (range, varies by club, so joiningFeeCad null). US figure. Average monthly dues per member across all tiers $19.51 (2025). | SEC Form 10-KRead 2026-10-26 |
| PF Black Card | $24.99 | $49.00 | Not listed | $348.88 | 10-K: '$24.99 per month for new members'. Annual fee $49 is the 10-K's 'current standard annual fees' and is not stated per tier. Enrollment $0 to $59 varies by club. | SEC Form 10-KRead 2026-10-26 |
Scope: cheapest plan read: Classic Card (starting at) at $15.00 a month. Price basis: Company-wide 'starting at' figures from the Planet Fitness, Inc. Form 10-K for FY2025 (filed 2026-02-25). Franchisee-set; varies by club and promotion. Not a club page. Other locations can differ.
First-year cost estimator
Pick a plan, say how long you will stay, and see the true cost once fees are added.
Total = dues × months + joining fee once + annual fee per 12 months started. A fee marked not listed counts as zero, so the real total may be higher. Taxes and promotions are not included.
How to cancel Planet Fitness
10-K: some memberships require a cancellation fee, but the company requires franchisees to offer a non-committal membership option; members may cancel after proper notification per their membership agreement, some memberships subject to an initial minimum term. Method not stated in the filing; set by club agreement.SEC Form 10-K
Friction signals counted from the wording above: commitment or fee terms; method not stated. This describes what the gym publishes; it is not a rating of customer experience.
What we could not confirm
- planetfitness.com returns a Cloudflare 'Just a moment' 403 challenge to an honest-UA request, including robots.txt; not bypassed, so official club/FAQ pages are link-only.
- Wayback has a planetfitness.com/gyms snapshot (http://web.archive.org/web/20261012193632/https://www.planetfitness.com/gyms/, captured 2026-10-12, archived copy) but it carries no prices; no snapshot of /membership.
- Per-club price, enrollment fee, notice period, cancellation method and freeze terms not obtained.
- 10-K figures are 'starting at' for new members and company-wide, not a specific club.
Planet Fitness: quick answers
How much does Planet Fitness cost?
The lowest advertised price we found is Classic Card (starting at) at $15.00 a month. With a $49.00 annual fee and no joining fee listed, twelve months costs $229.00. Price basis: Company-wide 'starting at' figures from the Planet Fitness, Inc. Form 10-K for FY2025 (filed 2026-02-25). Franchisee-set; varies by club and promotion. Not a club page.
How do I cancel Planet Fitness?
10-K: some memberships require a cancellation fee, but the company requires franchisees to offer a non-committal membership option; members may cancel after proper notification per their membership agreement, some memberships subject to an initial minimum term. Method not stated in the filing; set by club agreement. (Gym’s own wording, read Oct 26, 2026.)
Keep exploring
- Gym membership cost: 13 US gyms we read, chain by chainAdd fees to dues for a first-year cost and read the cancellation wording.
- Cheapest protein per gram: 52 US products comparedRank protein sources by cost per gram before you buy.
- How to read a gym contract and cancelFees add 1% to 50% to year-one cost at the 8 US gyms…
- How to compare protein by cost per gramCompare protein by cost per gram: price divided by…