Mr Buff

Gym costs

Gym membership cost: 13 US gyms we read, chain by chain

12 US gyms compared on monthly price, year-one cost with fees, and cancelling.

Lowest monthly price

EoS Fitness

$9.99 a month · $179.87 in year one with fees

Will Do (as low as)

Plans, fees and cancelling

First-year cost estimator

Pick up to three plans, say how long you will stay, and see the true cost once fees are added.

Total = dues × months + joining fee once + annual fee per 12 months started. A fee marked not listed counts as zero, so the real total may be higher. Taxes and promotions are not included.

BudgetLowest monthly dues

EoS Fitness

Will Do (as low as)

$9.99/month

Annual fee
$59.99
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$179.87
Some friction signals30-day notice · method not stated

$14.99/month

Annual fee
$59.99
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$239.87
Few friction signalsrules vary by club

$14.99/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
$0.99
Year one
$180.87
Some friction signalscommitment or fee terms · method not stated

Planet Fitness

Classic Card (starting at)

$15.00/month

Annual fee
$49.00
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$229.00
Some friction signalscommitment or fee terms · method not stated

Blink Fitness (now PureGym)

Premium Plus (12-month commitment)

$46.99/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
$19.99
Year one
$583.87
Few friction signalsmethod not stated

Full serviceClasses, pools, more equipment

24 Hour Fitness

GetFit (monthly)

$24.99/month

Annual fee
$69.99
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$369.87
Many friction signals30-day notice · commitment or fee terms · method not stated

$24.99/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$299.88
Cancellation: not publishedWe did not find cancellation wording on the pages we read.

Gold's Gym

12-Month Commitment (Commit & Save)

$43.31/month, billed every 2 weeks

Annual fee
$59.99
Joining fee
None
Year one
$579.73
Some friction signalsmethod not stated · rules vary by club

LA Fitness

Dues are shown only inside the club join flow, so no price is ranked.

No price published

Few friction signalscommitment or fee terms

PremiumResort-style clubs, top prices

Life Time

Adult membership (starts at)

$339.00/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$4,068.00
Some friction signals30-day notice · method not stated

Open 24/7Keycard access at any hour

Anytime Fitness

Plans (starting price)

$45.00/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$540.00
Many friction signalscommitment or fee terms · method not stated · rules vary by club

CommunityYMCA and city recreation

Scope: 13 US gyms, one club or fee schedule per chain, each read Oct 26, 2026 from its own page. These are not national prices: gyms price by club and promotion, and some prices are “as low as” promotional dues. LA Fitness shows monthly dues only inside the club join flow, so it is never ranked, sorted by price or estimated.

Not included, and why (5)
  • Chuze Fitness: chuzefitness.com returns Cloudflare 'Attention Required' block; nothing read.
  • Equinox: official join pages show only a promo ('a month on us and $0 initiation', offer ends 10.31); no monthly dues published; omitted.
  • Snap Fitness: opened club membership page (Eagan, MN) shows no prices; omitted.
  • Workout Anytime: Lawrenceburg TN club page shows no prices and /membership returned 404; omitted.
  • YMCA: ymca.org blocked by Cloudflare; two independent local associations used instead.

The cancellation meter counts up to four signals in the gym’s own wording. It describes what the gym publishes, not how cancelling goes in practice.

What the numbers show

Across the 12 gyms with a published monthly price, the lowest advertised price runs from $9.99 to $339.00, with a median of $31.99.

Fees change the picture. For the 8 gyms that list a joining or annual fee on their cheapest plan, adding the fees to twelve months of dues raises year-one cost by 1% to 50% over the headline price times twelve (median 17%).

5 of 12 gyms list an annual fee on at least one plan, ranging from $49.00 to $69.99 a year. 4 list a joining fee above zero.

On cancelling: 9 of 12 gyms publish cancellation wording on the pages we read, and 3 publish none. 3 state a notice period of 30 days or more. 1 mentions an online, portal or kiosk route and 1 mentions going in person or to the home club.

LA Fitness is not in these figures: its monthly dues are shown only inside the club join flow, and a missing price is not treated as zero.

Year-one cost of each gym’s cheapest plan (12 months plus listed fees)

  • EoS Fitness$9.99/mo headline$179.87
  • Crunch Fitness$14.99/mo headline$239.87
  • VASA Fitness$14.99/mo headline$180.87
  • Planet Fitness$15.00/mo headline$229.00
  • 24 Hour Fitness$24.99/mo headline$369.87
  • YMCA of Lincoln, NE (example of a local YMCA)$39.00/mo headline$493.00
  • Gold's Gym$43.31/mo headline$579.73
  • Blink Fitness (now PureGym)$46.99/mo headline$583.87

Frequently asked questions

How much does a gym membership cost?

Among the 12 gyms with a published monthly price, the lowest advertised monthly price runs from $9.99 (EoS Fitness) to $339.00 (Life Time), median $31.99. Prices vary by club and by promotion, so each gym page names the club the price was read from.

What is the real first-year cost of a gym membership?

Twelve months of dues plus any listed joining and annual fee. For the 8 gyms that list fees on their cheapest plan, that is 1% to 50% more than the headline monthly price times twelve. Use the first-year estimator above to try your own length of stay.

Do gyms charge an annual fee?

5 of 12 gyms list an annual fee on at least one plan, from $49.00 to $69.99 a year. Some also charge a joining or activation fee. Both are shown on each gym’s page.

How much notice do gyms need to cancel?

3 of the 12 gyms state a notice period of 30 days or more in their own wording; 3 publish no cancellation wording on the pages we read. Check the agreement you sign, because club-level rules can differ.

Can I cancel a gym membership online?

1 of 12 gyms mention an online, portal or kiosk route in the wording we read. 1 mentions going in person or to the home club. Most pages do not describe every route, so ask the club which routes it accepts and get confirmation in writing.

Keep exploring

Topics: Gym contractsBudget