Mr Buff

Gym costs

Gym membership cost: 7 Canadian gyms we read, chain by chain

7 Canadian gyms compared on monthly price, year-one cost with fees, and cancelling.

Lowest monthly price

Econofitness (QC)

$10.81 a month

Weekend (ven-dim)

Plans, fees and cancelling

First-year cost estimator

Pick up to three plans, say how long you will stay, and see the true cost once fees are added.

Total = dues × months + joining fee once + annual fee per 12 months started. A fee marked not listed counts as zero, so the real total may be higher. Taxes and promotions are not included.

BudgetLowest monthly dues

Econofitness (QC)

Weekend (ven-dim)

$10.81/month, billed every 2 weeks

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$129.74
Few friction signalsNone of the five signals we look for

$15.00/month

Annual fee
$49.00
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$229.00
Some friction signalscommitment or fee terms · method not stated

Fit4Less

4Less Card

$17.31/month, billed every 2 weeks

Annual fee
$49.99
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$257.73
Some friction signals30-day notice · commitment or fee terms

CommunityYMCA and city recreation

City of Toronto FitnessTO

FitnessTO Weight Room and Cardio Room 1 month

$33.73/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$404.76
Few friction signalsno online or kiosk option stated

YMCA of Greater Toronto

Young Adult (22-29)

$49.00/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
None
Year one
$588.00
Few friction signalsmethod not stated

$59.55/month

Annual fee
Not listed
Joining fee
Not listed
Year one
$714.60
Few friction signalsno online or kiosk option stated

Scope: 7 Canadian gyms, one club or fee schedule per chain, each read Oct 26, 2026 from its own page. These are not national prices: gyms price by club and promotion, and some prices are “as low as” promotional dues.

Not included, and why (4)
  • Equinox, Life Time, Blink: official sites show no Canadian clubs (no Toronto/Canada references); omitted.
  • YMCA Vancouver and Calgary not collected.
  • Anytime, World Gym, Ottawa, Montréal unreadable or not found.
  • GoodLife Fitness prices hidden behind club join flow.

The cancellation meter counts up to four signals in the gym’s own wording. It describes what the gym publishes, not how cancelling goes in practice.

What the numbers show

Across the 7 gyms with a published monthly price, the lowest advertised price runs from $10.81 to $64.15, with a median of $33.73.

Fees change the picture. For the 2 gyms that list a joining or annual fee on their cheapest plan, adding the fees to twelve months of dues raises year-one cost by 24% to 27% over the headline price times twelve (median 26%).

2 of 7 gyms list an annual fee on at least one plan, ranging from $49.00 to $49.99 a year. 0 list a joining fee above zero.

On cancelling: All 7 gyms publish cancellation wording on the pages we read. 1 states a notice period of 30 days or more. 2 mention an online, portal or kiosk route and 2 mention going in person or to the home club.

Year-one cost of each gym’s cheapest plan (12 months plus listed fees)

  • Planet Fitness (Canada)$15.00/mo headline$229.00
  • Fit4Less$17.31/mo headline$257.73
  • YMCA of Greater Toronto$49.00/mo headline$588.00

Frequently asked questions

How much does a gym membership cost?

Among the 7 gyms with a published monthly price, the lowest advertised monthly price runs from $10.81 (Econofitness (QC)) to $64.15 (City of Vancouver Park Board Flexipass), median $33.73. Prices vary by club and by promotion, so each gym page names the club the price was read from.

What is the real first-year cost of a gym membership?

Twelve months of dues plus any listed joining and annual fee. For the 2 gyms that list fees on their cheapest plan, that is 24% to 27% more than the headline monthly price times twelve. Use the first-year estimator above to try your own length of stay.

Do gyms charge an annual fee?

2 of 7 gyms list an annual fee on at least one plan, from $49.00 to $49.99 a year. Some also charge a joining or activation fee. Both are shown on each gym’s page.

How much notice do gyms need to cancel?

1 of the 7 gyms state a notice period of 30 days or more in their own wording; 0 publish no cancellation wording on the pages we read. Check the agreement you sign, because club-level rules can differ.

Can I cancel a gym membership online?

2 of 7 gyms mention an online, portal or kiosk route in the wording we read. 2 mention going in person or to the home club. Most pages do not describe every route, so ask the club which routes it accepts and get confirmation in writing.

Keep exploring

Topics: Gym contractsBudgetCanada