Protein per dollar
Cheapest protein per gram: 48 Canadian products compared
48 Canadian products from 3 retailers, ranked by what 100 g of protein costs.
Lowest cost on this list
Red Lentils
Clic · Costco.ca
$1.13 per 100 g of protein
- $28.99 for 10 kg
- 2,571 g of protein in the pack
- 86% below the median of 48 products
| Product | Pack | Price | Protein in pack | Cost per 100 g protein | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Red LentilsClic · Costco.ca |
10 kg | $28.99 | 2,571 g | $1.13 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 35 g, protein 9 g. Servings per container not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
High Whey Protein Powder Variety Pack (Vanilla Cake and Cookies & Cream)Revolution Nutrition · Costco.ca |
2 x 2.27 kg | $119.99 | 3,050 g | $3.93 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 122 servings and 25 g protein from page feature text; no panel. Price is for the 2-tub pack. |
Red Split Lentils (dry)Western Family · Save-On-Foods |
450 g | $4.49 | 108 g | $4.16 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: 1 serving (100 g), protein 24 g. Page shows a 'buy 2 get points' offer. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Protein + Recovery, Creamy VanillaVega · Costco.ca |
2.7 kg | $89.99 | 1,950 g | $4.61 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 65 servings and 30 g protein from page text; no panel. |
Organic Plant Protein, Vanilla BeanLeanfit · Costco.ca |
2 kg | $69.99 | 1,499 g | $4.67 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 28 g, protein 21 g. Servings CONFLICT on page: feature text says 71, panel says 60 per container, so left null. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Beef Protein Isolate, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $44.99 | 957 g | $4.70 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Green Lentils (dry)Western Family · Save-On-Foods |
450 g | $4.89 | 104 g | $4.72 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: 1 serving (100 g), protein 23 g. Page also shows a points offer. Servings not stated. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
100% Protein (multi-source blend), Chocolate MilkshakeCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
size not in title; Shopify variant weight 2100 g | $84.99 | 1,680 g | $5.06 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. DOUBT: pack size inferred from variant weight only. |
Protein + Supergreens, VanillaVega · Costco.ca |
2 kg | $64.99 | 1,254 g | $5.18 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 57 servings and 22 g protein from page text; no panel. |
Chewy Protein BarsKirkland Signature · Costco.ca |
42 x 40 g bars | $23.99 | 420 g | $5.71 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 40 g, 42 servings per container, protein 10 g. |
Gold Standard 100% Whey, Vanilla Ice CreamOptimum Nutrition · Costco.ca |
2.48 kg | $109.99 | 1,920 g | $5.73 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Servings and 24 g protein from page feature text; no nutrition panel shown, serving g not on page. |
Gold Standard 100% Whey, Extreme Chocolate ShakeOptimum Nutrition · Costco.ca |
2.56 kg | $109.99 | 1,920 g | $5.73 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Servings and 24 g protein from page feature text; no panel, serving g not on page. |
Extra Large White EggsWestern Family · Save-On-Foods |
12 eggs | $4.90 | 84 g | $5.83 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: protein 14 g per 2 extra large eggs; servings = 12/2 (derived). |
Iso90 whey isolate, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
2 kg | $109.99 | 1,830 g | $6.01 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Solid Light Tuna in WaterKirkland Signature · Costco.ca |
8 x 184 g cans | $19.99 | 322 g | $6.22 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 55 g, protein 12 g. Servings per can not shown; drained weight not stated. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Whey Protein, VanillaLeanfit · Costco.ca |
2 kg | $89.99 | 1,440 g | $6.25 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 33 g, protein 24 g; 60 servings from feature text. |
Micellar Casein, Chocolate MilkshakeCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $49.99 | 750 g | $6.67 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Flaked Light Tuna Skipjack in WaterWestern Family · Save-On-Foods |
170 g can | $2.49 | 37 g | $6.69 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Regular $2.49 shown as 'was'; sale $1.99 also shown. Label serving '1 cup drained (55 g)'; servings per can not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Chunk Light Tuna Skipjack in WaterWestern Family · Save-On-Foods |
170 g can | $2.49 | 37 g | $6.69 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Regular $2.49 shown as 'was'; sale $1.99 also shown. Label serving '1/4 cup drained (55 g)'; servings per can not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Large White Eggs 18Western Family · Save-On-Foods |
18 eggs | $7.45 | 108 g | $6.90 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: protein 6 g per 1 large egg (serving g truncated); servings = egg count (derived). Page also shows a points-redemption offer. |
2% Regular MilkDairyland · Save-On-Foods |
2 L | $5.09 | 72 g | $7.07 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label serving 1 cup (250 mL), protein 9 g; servings = 2000/250 (derived). |
Soyganic Ultra Firm TofuSunrise · Save-On-Foods |
400 g | $4.99 | 71 g | $7.08 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: serving 85 g, protein 15 g. Servings per pack not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Solid White Albacore TunaOcean's · Costco.ca |
6 x 184 g cans | $20.99 | 281 g | $7.46 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 55 g, protein 14 g. Servings per can not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Organic Brown Rice Protein, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $59.99 | 792 g | $7.57 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Whey Protein Iso LatteCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
size not in title; Shopify variant weight 1100 g | $69.99 | 868 g | $8.06 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. DOUBT: pack size inferred from variant weight only. |
Vegan Protein Blend, ChocolateCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $59.99 | 720 g | $8.33 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Premium Whey Protein Isolate, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $84.99 | 957 g | $8.88 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Plant-Based Protein & Greens, VanillaLeanfit · Save-On-Foods |
517 g | $35.99 | 398 g | $9.04 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: 1 serving (26 g), protein 20 g. Servings per container not shown. Servings derived: pack weight / serving size. |
Protein Bars Variety PackPure Protein · Costco.ca |
18 x 50 g bars | $32.99 | 360 g | $9.16 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 50 g, protein 20 g (first of 3 flavour panels). Price read 31.99 on an earlier load the same day, 32.99 on the later one. |
Protein Bars (Brownie and Cookie Dough)Kirkland Signature · Costco.ca |
20 x 60 g bars | $38.99 | 420 g | $9.28 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 60 g, protein 21 g/bar. Panel says 10 servings per flavour; pack has 20 bars (10 + 10). |
Grass-Fed New Zealand Whey Protein Concentrate, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $74.99 | 792 g | $9.47 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Organic Soy BeverageKirkland Signature · Costco.ca |
6 x 946 mL | $13.99 | 144 g | $9.72 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. Panel: serving 250 mL, 4 servings per carton, protein 6 g; servings = 4 x 6 cartons (derived). |
Whey Protein Concentrate, Chocolate MilkshakeCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $69.99 | 720 g | $9.72 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Grass-Fed New Zealand Whey Protein Isolate, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $89.99 | 924 g | $9.74 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
High Protein Vanilla ShakePremier Protein · Costco.ca |
18 x 325 mL | $52.99 | 540 g | $9.81 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. One shake per serving (servings = pack count from title); 30 g protein per shake from page text; serving is 325 mL. |
Protein ShakeDymatize · Costco.ca |
18 x 340 mL | $52.99 | 540 g | $9.81 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. One bottle per serving (count from title); 30 g protein from page text. |
Whey Protein Isolate, Chocolate MilkshakeCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
1 kg | $79.99 | 810 g | $9.88 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Chocolate Protein ShakeFairlife · Costco.ca |
18 x 340 mL | $54.99 | 540 g | $10.18 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. One bottle per serving (count from title); 30 g protein per bottle from page text. |
Clear Protein, Tropical Punch (whey isolate)Isopure · Costco.ca |
1.25 kg | $109.99 | 1,000 g | $11.00 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 50 servings and 20 g protein from page text; no panel. |
Chocolate Chip Salted Caramel Protein BarsGrenade · Costco.ca |
14 x 60 g bars | $34.99 | 294 g | $11.90 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 21 g protein per bar from page text; count and bar weight from title. |
Flaked Light Tuna in WaterClover Leaf · Save-On-Foods |
170 g can | $3.69 | 30 g | $12.30 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Regular $3.69 shown as 'was'; sale price $2.19 also shown. Label serving 1/2 can drained (60 g); servings = 2 per can (derived from 1/2 can). |
Greek Yogurt 2% M.F. Plain, 4 packOikos · Save-On-Foods |
4 individual containers (size not stated) | $5.49 | 36 g | $15.25 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: 1 container per serving, protein 9 g; servings = 4 (pack count). |
Plant Based Protein Bars, The ClassicsTrubar · Costco.ca |
18 x 50 g bars | $33.99 | 216 g | $15.74 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 12 g protein per bar from page text; count and weight from title. |
Egg White Protein Powder, UnflavouredCanadian Protein · Canadian Protein |
454 g | $59.99 | 375 g | $16.00 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCanadian Protein own store (Shopify). Price is the page 'Sale price' field but JSON shows no compare-at price, so treated as regular. Servings and protein per serving from the page's stat block; serving g not shown. |
Protein Bars Variety PackRXBAR · Costco.ca |
14 x 52 g bars | $27.99 | 168 g | $16.66 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 12 g protein per bar from page text; count from title. |
Clear Protein, WatermelonVega · Costco.ca |
1 kg | $109.99 | 636 g | $17.29 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesCostco online price (ld+json offers.price); warehouse prices may vary; membership required. 53 servings and 12 g protein from page text. DOUBT: $109.99 for 1 kg looks high; re-check before publishing. |
Flakes of Chicken (canned)Maple Leaf · Save-On-Foods |
156 g can | $4.99 | 24 g | $20.79 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label serving 1/3 can, protein 8 g; servings = 3 (derived from 1/3 can). |
Chocolate Sea Salt Protein Bars, 5 packRXBAR · Save-On-Foods |
5 bars | $15.69 | 60 g | $26.15 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesStore context rsid 907 (HighGate Village). Serving size text on page is truncated in places. Label: 1 bar per serving, protein 12 g; bar weight not shown. |
No products match those filters.
Scope: 48 products ranked, by retailer: Costco.ca 22, Save-On-Foods 13 (one store context: rsid 907 (HighGate Village)), Canadian Protein 13. Prices read Oct 26, 2026; store prices vary, so this is a sample and not a store-wide or national price index.
What the numbers show
Across 48 products, 100 g of protein costs between $1.13 and $26.15. The priciest product costs 23.2 times the cheapest, and the median is $7.82.
By category, the lowest median is beans and lentils ($4.16 per 100 g across 3 products) and the highest is meat and fish ($20.79 across 1). Small categories give noisy medians: a median of 1 or 3 products describes those products, not the category. The cheapest single product in every category is on the full table.
Among protein powders (whey and plant), the 9 packs of 2 kg or more have a median of $5.18 per 100 g of protein, against $9.47 for the 11 smaller packs: 45% lower for the larger packs.
Median cost per 100 g of protein, by category
- Beans and lentils3 products$4.16
- Eggs2 products$6.37
- Other foods13 products$7.46
- Plant protein7 products$7.57
- Whey protein13 products$8.06
- Dairy2 products$11.16
- Protein bars7 products$11.90
- Meat and fish1 products$20.79
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest protein per gram?
Of the 48 products we recorded, Red Lentils (Clic) at Costco.ca is cheapest: $1.13 per 100 g of protein, from a 10 kg pack at $28.99. Prices read Oct 26, 2026 and can change.
Is protein powder cheaper than whole foods?
It depends on the food. The median for whey in our data is $8.06 per 100 g of protein, from 13 products, so treat it as a description of those products and not of the market. For whole-food categories the medians are: beans and lentils $4.16, eggs $6.37, plant protein $7.57, dairy $11.16, meat and fish $20.79.
Are protein bars a good deal?
Per gram of protein, the median bar costs $11.90 per 100 g against $8.06 for whey, about 1.5 times as much. Bars are convenient, which is a different thing from cheap.
Do these prices include tax or shipping?
No. Each figure is the price shown on the product page on the date read; we add no tax, delivery or membership cost. Some retailers show different prices by store or region, and rows note the store context where the page gave one.
Keep exploring
- Protein calculator: grams a day and what it costsTurn a grams-per-kilogram range into grams a day and a daily cost.
- Gym membership cost: 7 Canadian gyms we read, chain by chainAdd fees to dues for a first-year cost and read the cancellation wording.
- How to compare protein by cost per gramCompare protein by cost per gram: price divided by…
- Bodybuilding journey: bulk, cut and what muscle for show costsStage-by-stage bulk and cut route to a muscular…