Protein per dollar
Cheapest protein per gram: 52 US products compared
52 US products from 3 retailers, ranked by what 100 g of protein costs.
Lowest cost on this list
Grade A Large White Eggs
Kroger · Kroger.com
$1.65 per 100 g of protein
- $1.78 for 18 ct
- 108 g of protein in the pack
- 77% below the median of 52 products
| Product | Pack | Price | Protein in pack | Cost per 100 g protein | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Grade A Large White EggsKroger · Kroger.com |
18 ct | $1.78 | 108 g | $1.65 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Serving = 1 egg (panel gives no grams). 'About' servings. |
Lentil Beans (dry brown lentils)Kroger · Kroger.com |
16 oz dry | $2.19 | 117 g | $1.87 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Dry weight; 9 g protein per 1/4 cup dry. |
Whole Green Lentils (dry)Trader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
16 oz dry | $1.99 | 100 g | $1.99 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). 'Serves about 10'; dry weight. |
Creamy Peanut ButterKroger · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $2.29 | 98 g | $2.34 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Organic Dry Green LentilsSimple Truth · Kroger.com |
16 oz dry | $3.79 | 117 g | $3.24 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Dry weight; 9 g protein per 1/4 cup dry. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Frozen Raw Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastsKroger · Kroger.com |
3 lb | $9.49 | 276 g | $3.44 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Black BeansKroger · Kroger.com |
15.25 oz can | $1.00 | 28 g | $3.57 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $0.89 sale. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
High Protein Organic TofuTrader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
16 oz | $2.99 | 70 g | $4.27 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). 'Serves about 5'. |
Fresh Natural Pork Loin Chops BonelessKroger · Kroger.com |
1 ct (weight varies) | $5.00 | 110 g | $4.55 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Price per package as shown ($4.00/lb); package weight not stated so packG omitted. |
2% Low Fat Small Curd Cottage CheeseKroger · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $2.49 | 52 g | $4.79 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $2.29 sale. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Harvestland Individually Wrapped Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastPerdue · Kroger.com |
2.25 lb | $12.00 | 225 g | $5.33 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $10.00 sale. Serving '4 Ounces' (grams not stated). |
Classic Large White EggsEggland's Best · Kroger.com |
24 ct | $7.99 | 144 g | $5.55 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Serving = 1 egg (panel gives no grams). |
Organic Low Sodium Garbanzo BeansSimple Truth · Kroger.com |
15 oz can | $1.19 | 21 g | $5.67 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt CupKroger · Kroger.com |
5.3 oz cup | $0.89 | 15 g | $5.93 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Organic Frozen Mukimame (shelled edamame)Simple Truth · Kroger.com |
12 oz frozen | $2.39 | 40 g | $5.98 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Organic Low Sodium Garbanzo Beans, 4 packSimple Truth · Kroger.com |
4 x 15 oz cans | $4.69 | 78 g | $6.01 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. Pack weight is 4 x 15 oz from title. |
Black BeansBush's · Kroger.com |
15 oz can | $1.49 | 24 g | $6.21 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.25 sale. Serving 1/2 cup (grams not on panel). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
93/7 Lean Fresh Ground TurkeyKroger · Kroger.com |
1 lb | $5.49 | 88 g | $6.24 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Serving '4 ONZ' (grams not stated); raw weight. |
Steamed LentilsTrader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
17.6 oz | $3.29 | 50 g | $6.58 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). |
Nonfat Plain Greek YogurtTrader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
5.3 oz cup | $0.99 | 15 g | $6.60 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). |
100% Liquid Egg WhitesBob Evans · Kroger.com |
32 oz | $6.69 | 100 g | $6.69 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Cage Free 100% Liquid Egg WhitesKroger · Kroger.com |
32 oz | $6.89 | 100 g | $6.89 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Organic TofuTrader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
19 oz | $2.49 | 36 g | $6.92 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). 'Serves about 6'. |
Gold Standard 100% Whey, Double Rich ChocolateOptimum Nutrition · Kroger.com |
1.5 lb | $36.99 | 528 g | $7.01 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
ChickpeasBush's · Kroger.com |
15.5 oz can | $1.49 | 21 g | $7.10 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.25 sale. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Simply Cottage Cheese 2%Good Culture · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $3.99 | 56 g | $7.13 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Premium Chicken Breast Chunk in WaterKroger · Kroger.com |
5 oz can | $1.39 | 19 g | $7.32 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.29 sale. Serving is 3 oz drained; packG is full can weight. |
Impact Whey Protein, Vanilla Ice CreamMyProtein · MyProtein US |
65 servings | $105.99 | 1,430 g | $7.41 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesPage shows 'Was $105.99' and a 30% off price of $74.19; regular (Was) price recorded, sitewide sale not used. 22 g protein per serving from product text; serving grams and pack kg not shown in the text read, so pack weight is omitted. |
30g Chocolate Protein Shake, 12 ctPremier Protein · Kroger.com |
12 shakes | $27.99 | 360 g | $7.78 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $27.00 sale. Serving = 1 shake (volume not shown in the text read). |
Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt TubChobani · Kroger.com |
32 oz | $6.29 | 80 g | $7.86 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Organic Cage Free 100% Liquid Egg WhitesSimple Truth · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $3.99 | 50 g | $7.98 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Total Plain Low Fat Greek YogurtFage · Kroger.com |
32 oz | $6.99 | 85 g | $8.22 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $6.49 sale. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Icelandic Skyr Plain Nonfat Yogurtsiggi's · Kroger.com |
24 oz | $6.49 | 76 g | $8.54 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Korean BBQ Flavor Marinated Shaved PorkPrivate Selection · Kroger.com |
1.31 lb | $10.00 | 115 g | $8.70 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Raw AlmondsSimple Truth · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $7.99 | 90 g | $8.88 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Builders Chocolatey Peanut Butter 20g Protein BarsClif · Kroger.com |
6 x 68 g bars | $10.99 | 120 g | $9.16 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $9.99 sale. |
Total Plain Whole Milk Greek YogurtFage · Kroger.com |
32 oz | $6.99 | 75 g | $9.32 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $6.49 sale. 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Chocolate Peanut Caramel Protein BarsPure Protein · Kroger.com |
4 x 50 g bars | $7.49 | 80 g | $9.36 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Total Plain 2% Greek Yogurt CupFage · Kroger.com |
5.3 oz cup | $1.49 | 15 g | $9.93 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.25 sale. |
Dark Chocolate Plant Protein PowderOWYN · Kroger.com |
1.1 lb | $27.99 | 280 g | $10.00 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Serving is 2 scoops (35.3 g). |
Organic Vegan 21g Protein Powder, Vanilla BeanOrgain · Kroger.com |
1.02 lb | $21.99 | 210 g | $10.47 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $19.99 sale. Serving is 2 scoops (46 g). |
Protein Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Chewy BarsNature Valley · Kroger.com |
5 x 40 g bars | $5.29 | 50 g | $10.58 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $4.29 sale. |
Deli Fresh Oven Roasted Turkey Breast, Thin SlicedOscar Mayer · Kroger.com |
9 oz | $4.29 | 41 g | $10.59 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $3.99 sale. |
Non-Fat Plain Greek Yogurt CupChobani · Kroger.com |
5.3 oz cup | $1.50 | 14 g | $10.71 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.39 sale. |
Fresh Farm Raised Atlantic Salmon Fillet PortionKroger · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $12.00 | 92 g | $13.04 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Cookies and Cream Protein Bar, 4 ctBarebells · Kroger.com |
4 bars | $11.49 | 80 g | $14.36 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $10.49 sale. Panel says 1 serving = 1 bar; 4 servings taken from the '4 ct' title. Bar grams not on this page. |
Shelled Edamame with Sea SaltTrader Joe's · Trader Joe's |
9 oz | $3.99 | 27 g | $14.78 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesTrader Joe's website; price as listed on the page (may vary by store). |
Wild Pacific Salmon FilletAqua Star · Kroger.com |
1.25 lb | $17.48 | 115 g | $15.20 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $9.99 sale. Only the $9.99 sale and the $17.48 'was' price shown. |
Chocolate Protein Shake, 14 fl oz bottleCore Power · Kroger.com |
1 bottle (14 fl oz) | $4.38 | 26 g | $16.85 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $3.99 sale. Serving = 1 bottle (414 mL). |
Original Beef JerkyJack Link's · Kroger.com |
8 oz | $13.79 | 80 g | $17.24 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $12.69 sale. Serving '1 ONZ' (grams not stated). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
White Premium Chunk Canned Chicken Breast in WaterSwanson · Kroger.com |
12.5 oz can | $5.29 | 30 g | $17.63 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $4.49 sale. Serving is 3 oz drained; packG is full can weight. |
Albacore Wild TunaWild Planet · Kroger.com |
5 oz can | $5.99 | 33 g | $18.15 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $4.99 sale. Serving is the whole can (142 g). |
No products match those filters.
Scope: 52 products ranked, by retailer: Kroger.com 45 (one store context: Rolla MO pickup), Trader Joe's 6, MyProtein US 1. Prices read Oct 26, 2026; store prices vary, so this is a sample and not a store-wide or national price index. 16 Costco.com items whose page reported out of stock are not ranked.
What the numbers show
Across 52 products, 100 g of protein costs between $1.65 and $18.15. The priciest product costs 11.0 times the cheapest, and the median is $7.22.
By category, the lowest median is beans and lentils ($5.98 per 100 g across 11 products) and the highest is plant protein ($10.23 across 2). Small categories give noisy medians: a median of 2 or 11 products describes those products, not the category. The cheapest single product in every category is on the full table.
Median cost per 100 g of protein, by category
- Beans and lentils11 products$5.98
- Eggs5 products$6.69
- Whey protein2 products$7.21
- Other foods6 products$7.35
- Dairy10 products$8.04
- Meat and fish12 products$9.64
- Protein bars4 products$9.97
- Plant protein2 products$10.23
Trust and safety record
Public records about the retailers and brands on this page, each with its source and the date we accessed it (Oct 26, 2026). They are not ratings or endorsements, and a brand missing here is not a clean bill of health: the search was done once and is not exhaustive. How we use these sources, and their limits.
Retailers
- Kroger
Apple App Store, “Kroger” (The Kroger Co.): 4.77 average from 1,309,221 ratings, accessed Oct 26, 2026. Rating is for the mobile app, not the business. App Store page.
FDA enforcement report: at least 100 records whose product description contains “Kroger” (64 classified Class I, 32 Class II), dated 2012-06-27 to 2026-08-19. A record is one product entry in the FDA’s enforcement report, and one recall event usually produces many records; it describes a past recall classification, not the product on sale today. FDA records are mostly third-party suppliers recalling product sold under/at Kroger; query capped at 100 of 192 total. openFDA query, accessed Oct 26, 2026.
Reviews elsewhere (links only): Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play.
- Trader Joe's
FDA enforcement report: 18 records whose product description contains “Trader Joe's” (8 classified Class I, 9 Class II), dated 2015-05-13 to 2024-03-20. A record is one product entry in the FDA’s enforcement report, and one recall event usually produces many records; it describes a past recall classification, not the product on sale today. openFDA query, accessed Oct 26, 2026.
Reviews elsewhere (links only): Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play.
- MyProtein US
Apple App Store, “Myprotein: Fitness & Nutrition” (The Hut.com Limited): 4.85 average from 8,239 ratings, accessed Oct 26, 2026. Rating is for the mobile app, not the business. App Store page.
FDA enforcement report: 2 records whose product description contains “MyProtein” (0 classified Class I, 2 Class II), dated 2017-05-03. A record is one product entry in the FDA’s enforcement report, and one recall event usually produces many records; it describes a past recall classification, not the product on sale today. 2017 records are Armada Nutrition (manufacturer), pre-workout, not protein powder. openFDA query, accessed Oct 26, 2026.
Reviews elsewhere (links only): Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play.
FDA enforcement report records by brand
Each row counts records in the FDA’s enforcement report whose product description contains the brand name. A record is one product entry; a single recall event usually produces many records (class definitions: FDA recall classes). Records for a brand can describe a supplier or co-packer’s product sold under that name, and one match can be for a different product from the one ranked here. Records describe past recall classifications, not products on sale today.
| Brand | Records | Class I | Dates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simple Truth | 23 | 10 | 2013-05-29 to 2026-08-19 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Bush's | 5 | 0 | 2017-08-30 to 2018-01-17 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Optimum Nutrition | 2 | 2 | 2022-09-07 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Good Culture | 2 | 0 | 2019-07-31 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Premier Protein | 5 | 3 | 2022-09-07 to 2023-03-08 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Chobani | 100+ | 0 | 2013-10-30 to 2025-08-13 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Fage | 5 | 0 | 2019-07-31 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Private Selection | 22 | 16 | 2012-06-27 to 2024-12-04 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Clif | 15 | 9 | 2012-09-12 to 2017-08-09 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Pure Protein | 2 | 1 | 2013-02-13 to 2017-07-26 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Orgain | 3 | 1 | 2022-03-30 to 2025-01-22 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Nature Valley | 5 | 4 | 2012-10-31 to 2016-09-07 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Oscar Mayer | 2 | 0 | 2019-07-31 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Aqua Star | 3 | 0 | 2013-08-14 to 2025-09-24 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Swanson | 6 | 2 | 2012-11-28 to 2022-03-23 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
Reviews elsewhere, links only: Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play · Amazon. We do not copy review text or scores from these sites.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest protein per gram?
Of the 52 products we recorded, Grade A Large White Eggs (Kroger) at Kroger.com is cheapest: $1.65 per 100 g of protein, from a 18 ct pack at $1.78. Prices read Oct 26, 2026 and can change.
Is protein powder cheaper than whole foods?
It depends on the food. The median for whey in our data is $7.21 per 100 g of protein, from 2 products, so treat it as a description of those products and not of the market. For whole-food categories the medians are: beans and lentils $5.98, eggs $6.69, dairy $8.04, meat and fish $9.64, plant protein $10.23.
Are protein bars a good deal?
Per gram of protein, the median bar costs $9.97 per 100 g against $7.21 for whey, about 1.4 times as much. Bars are convenient, which is a different thing from cheap.
Do these prices include tax or shipping?
No. Each figure is the price shown on the product page on the date read; we add no tax, delivery or membership cost. Some retailers show different prices by store or region, and rows note the store context where the page gave one.
Keep exploring
- Protein calculator: grams a day and what it costsTurn a grams-per-kilogram range into grams a day and a daily cost.
- Gym membership cost: 13 US gyms we read, chain by chainAdd fees to dues for a first-year cost and read the cancellation wording.
- How to compare protein by cost per gramCompare protein by cost per gram: price divided by…
- Bodybuilding journey: bulk, cut and what muscle for show costsStage-by-stage bulk and cut route to a muscular…