Mr Buff

Fitness journeys

Bodybuilding journey: bulk, cut and what muscle for show costs

Muscle size is the product: volume, a measured surplus, then a slow deficit.

All 20 sections on this page
  1. The journey, stage by stage
  2. A realistic training week
  3. What you need to start and what it costs
  4. Month by month: what to expect
  5. A sample bulk day for a 75 kg adult
  6. Contest prep: a 16 to 20 week timeline
  7. Federations, entry fees and what prep costs
  8. Supplements: what the evidence supports
  9. Your first week, step by step
  10. Who should check with a doctor first, and who this fits
  11. What it asks of your diet
  12. Energy, recovery, pain and mental demand
  13. What a hypertrophy week looks like in the data
  14. How close to failure
  15. Contest prep: how long, how fast, what it cost
  16. After the show
  17. Performance drugs: how common, what the heart data show
  18. Injuries, and what the research does not show
  19. Common mistakes
  20. Sources

Muscle size is the product. Training volume, a controlled energy surplus, then a slow deficit to reveal the muscle. Size is only loosely coupled to maximal force, and bodybuilders are not the strongest per unit of muscle.

The journey, stage by stage

1Beginnerabout 1 month2Noviceabout 6 months3Intermediateabout 2 years4Advanced5+ years5Bulk phasemonths (editorial)6Cut phasemonths (editorial)
Filled circle: duration from a cited source. Open circle: editorial estimate.
  1. Beginner about 1 month
    Technique and showing up.Train three non-consecutive days a week, 45 to 60 minutes, full body, which sits inside the 2 to 3 days a week ACSM gives for novices ACSM 2009. Pick loads you could lift 8 to 12 times at most, and stop sets 1 to 3 reps short of that limit while you learn the lifts (common coaching practice, not tested in trials). Write down every set. The goal of month 1 is 12 sessions logged, because 63% of new fitness-centre members quit before month 3 Sperandei 2016. Strength gains in the first weeks are mostly skill, so judge this stage by attendance and clean reps, not by the scale.
  2. Novice about 6 months
    Progressive overload on the basic lifts. More weekly sets per muscle gave more growth in a meta-regression (Schoenfeld 2017).Stay on three full-body days or move to four days of upper/lower. Add weight when you can do the top of the range on every set: ACSM suggests a 2 to 10% load increase once you beat the target by one to two reps ACSM 2009. Aim for about 8 to 10 hard sets per muscle per week, since pooled data show more weekly sets give more growth Schoenfeld 2017. Eat 1.6 to 2.2 g/kg of protein Morton 2018 and gain about 0.25 to 0.5% of bodyweight a week Iraki 2019; at 75 kg that is 0.19 to 0.38 kg a week. A male lifter at this stage is typically near 0.9x bodyweight on bench per community-reported data Strength Level bench.
  3. Intermediate about 2 years
    Planning weekly volume and frequency. A smaller surplus as training age rises (Slater 2019).ACSM puts intermediates at 3 to 4 days a week with loads from 1 to 12 RM and emphasis on 6 to 12 RM, 1 to 2 minutes between sets for hypertrophy ACSM 2009. Hit each muscle twice a week, 10 to 16 direct sets total; the larger muscles fit the 8 to 17 weekly sets drug-tested natural competitors reported in prep, while arms at 6 sets each sit below that range Baz-Valle 2026. Use 2 to 3 minutes on heavy compounds: the 3-minute group beat the 1-minute group on strength and thigh thickness over 8 weeks Schoenfeld 2016 (rest). Gain slower than a novice, because a smaller surplus is expected as training age rises Slater 2019. Plan a lighter week every 6 to 8 weeks (editorial).
  4. Advanced 5+ years
    Slow-gain phases, specialisation and body-fat management.Progress is small and slow, so the plan shifts to specialization: raise weekly sets for one or two lagging muscles by 2 to 4 while holding the rest at maintenance volume (editorial, within the 8 to 17 range in Baz-Valle 2026). Volume returns flatten at higher doses in pooled data Pelland 2026, so more sets is not automatically better. Keep the surplus small and body fat controlled so the cut stays short. Community data put an advanced male near 1.5x bodyweight on bench and about 2.1x on squat Strength Level bench Strength Level squat.
  5. Bulk phase months (editorial)
    Surplus of roughly 10-20% above maintenance, aiming at 0.25-0.5% of bodyweight gained per week (Iraki 2019).Find maintenance first: eat a fixed intake for 2 weeks, weigh daily, and average the weekly change (editorial). Then add 10 to 20% Iraki 2019. For a 75 kg adult at an assumed 2,800 kcal maintenance, that is 3,080 to 3,360 kcal, with protein at 120 to 165 g (1.6 to 2.2 g/kg). Target 0.19 to 0.38 kg of weight gain a week; if you gain faster, trim 150 to 200 kcal (editorial). Phase length is editorial: 12 to 24 weeks is common practice, not a tested number. End the bulk when waist or body fat gets uncomfortable, not on a fixed date.
  6. Cut phase months (editorial)
    Lose about 0.5-1% of bodyweight a week, or 0.5% or less in a newer review (Helms 2014, Roberts 2020).Set intake for a loss of about 0.5 to 1% of bodyweight a week Helms 2014; a newer review prefers 0.5% or less Roberts 2020. At 75 kg that is 0.375 to 0.75 kg a week, and 0.375 kg (0.5%) is the safer pick. In a randomized trial the 0.7% a week group gained 2.1% lean mass while the 1.4% group did not Garthe 2011. Keep lifting heavy, each muscle two or more times a week with reps mostly in the 6 to 12 range at about 70 to 80% of 1RM Helms 2015, eat 2.3 to 3.1 g/kg of lean mass Helms 2014, and use the least cardio that still moves the scale Helms 2015.

Training-age spans follow Strength Level, a self-reported community database. Bulk and cut rates come from three nutrition reviews. Phase lengths are editorial.

The practical guide

What to do, what to buy, what it costs and what to expect.

A realistic training week

Beginners need three full-body days. Intermediates can run upper/lower four days with 10 to 16 sets per muscle, resting longer on heavy lifts.

Both plans use the ranges below: 8 to 12 RM loads for novices and a 6 to 12 RM emphasis for hypertrophy with 1 to 2 minutes of rest ACSM 2009, with 2 to 3 minutes on heavy compounds because longer rests produced more strength and thigh growth in 21 trained men Schoenfeld 2016 (rest). The exact exercise picks are editorial; the set, rep and rest ranges are sourced.

Beginner: 3 days a week (Mon, Wed, Fri), alternate A and B
DayExercises (sets x reps)RestEffort
ABack squat 3x8-12, bench press 3x8-12, seated cable row 3x8-12, overhead press 2x8-12, dumbbell curl 2x10-122 min compounds, 1 min curlsStop 1-3 reps short of failure
BRomanian deadlift 3x8-12, lat pulldown 3x8-12, incline dumbbell press 3x8-12, leg press 2x10-12, triceps pushdown 2x10-122 min compounds, 1 min pushdownsStop 1-3 reps short of failure
Week 1A, B, ALight loads, learn form
Week 2B, A, BAdd 2-10% when top reps are hit

Sources: ACSM 2009, Schoenfeld 2016 (rest)

On an A/B/A week that is 9 sets for chest (bench 6, incline 3), 9 for back (row 6, pulldown 3) and 8 for quads (squat 6, leg press 2). That clears the 5 to 9 set band and sits near the 10-plus band, where the meta-regression found larger gains only as a trend (P = 0.074) Schoenfeld 2017.

Intermediate: 4 days a week, upper/lower (Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri)
DayExercises (sets x reps)RestEffort
Upper ABench 4x6-10, chest-supported row 4x6-10, overhead press 3x8-12, lat pulldown 3x8-12, lateral raise 3x12-15, curl 3x10-12, pushdown 3x10-122-3 min compounds, 1-2 min rest1-2 reps in reserve
Lower ABack squat 4x6-10, Romanian deadlift 3x8-10, leg extension 3x10-15, leg curl 3x10-15, standing calf raise 4x10-152-3 min compounds1-2 reps in reserve
Upper BIncline dumbbell press 3x8-12, cable fly 3x12-15, pulldown 3x8-12, seated row 4x8-12, lateral raise 3x12-15, hammer curl 3x10-12, overhead triceps extension 3x10-121-2 minLast set near failure
Lower BLeg press 4x8-12, hip thrust 3x8-12, leg curl 4x10-15, leg extension 3x12-15, seated calf raise 4x10-151-2 minLast set near failure

Sources: ACSM 2009, Helms 2015, Schoenfeld 2016 (rest)

Weekly direct sets in the intermediate plan: chest 10 (bench 4, incline 3, fly 3), back 14 (row 4+4, pulldown 3+3), quads 14 (squat 4, leg press 4, extension 3+3), hamstrings 10 (Romanian deadlift 3, leg curl 3+4), biceps 6, triceps 6. The larger muscles sit inside the 8 to 17 direct weekly sets drug-tested natural competitors reported in prep, and biceps and triceps at 6 sets each sit below it Baz-Valle 2026 and above the 10-set mark where pooled data show larger gains Schoenfeld 2017.

Sets are stopped near failure, not always at it: a 15-study meta-analysis found a trivial edge for training to set failure (effect size 0.19) and no clear edge for momentary failure Refalo 2023. Twice-weekly training per muscle beat once weekly in an earlier meta-analysis Schoenfeld 2016.

What you need to start and what it costs

A US gym runs about $180 to $360 in year one in dues at budget chains (enrollment fees and tax extra), protein is the main food cost, and creatine is about $55 a year.

Year-one gym cost from this site's US data (monthly dues x 12 plus annual fee or join fee)
Gym and planMonthlyAnnual or join feeYear one
EoS Fitness, Will Do (as low as)$9.99$59.99 annual$179.87
Planet Fitness, Classic (starting at)$15.00$49.00 annual$229.00
Crunch, Base (Niagara Falls NY club)$14.99$59.99 annual$239.87
Crunch, Peak (same club)$24.99$59.99 annual$359.87
YMCA of Lincoln NE, adult 26-59$49.00$25 join$613.00

Sources: Mr Buff US gym data

Prices vary by club and promotion, and the table is one club per chain read 2026-10-26 Mr Buff US gym data. Check the barbell, a squat rack and free dumbbells exist before you join; that is the only equipment the plans above need.

Protein cost per 100 g of protein, from this site's US data
SourcePack and priceProteinCost per g
Kroger large eggs18 ct, $1.786 g each, 108 g1.6 cents
Frozen chicken breast3 lb, $9.4923 g x 12 servings, 276 g3.4 cents
Gold Standard whey (Costco)5.47 lb, $86.9924 g x 80, 1,920 g4.5 cents
Gold Standard whey (Kroger)1.5 lb, $36.9924 g x 22, 528 g7.0 cents

Sources: Mr Buff US protein data

A 150 g protein day costs about $2.47 on eggs and $5.16 on chicken at those prices (150 x the cents above); whey is a convenience, not a necessity Mr Buff US protein data. Whole foods and whey count the same toward the 1.6 to 2.2 g/kg target Morton 2018.

Month by month: what to expect

Measure gym attendance first, bodyweight second, lifts third. Community data give realistic strength markers at each training age.

Markers for a 170 lb (77 kg) man, using community-reported Strength Level standards
MarkerBeginnerNoviceIntermediateAdvanced
Bench press 1RM118 lb158 lb208 lb264 lb
Squat 1RM157 lb213 lb282 lb359 lb
Deadlift 1RM188 lb252 lb330 lb419 lb
Typical time trainedabout 1 monthabout 6 monthsabout 2 years5+ years

Sources: Strength Level bench, Strength Level deadlift, Strength Level squat

These are self-reported lifts from lifters who chose to log them, so treat them as a rough compass, not a promise Strength Level bench.

  • Month 1: 12 sessions logged (3 a week) and a written baseline for every lift. Most new members quit by month 3, so showing up is the marker Sperandei 2016.
  • Month 3: loads up on every main lift. At 0.25 to 0.5% of bodyweight a week, a 75 kg lifter would be up roughly 2.4 to 4.9 kg of scale weight, some of it fat (13 weeks x 0.19 to 0.38 kg) Iraki 2019.
  • Month 6: at the novice standard, about 1.0x bodyweight on bench Strength Level bench. Cumulative scale gain would be 4.9 to 9.8 kg if you never stalled, which most people do (26 weeks x 0.19 to 0.38 kg).
  • Month 12: progress slows as training age rises, so a smaller surplus is expected Slater 2019. Standards place the 2-year mark at the intermediate level, about 1.25x bodyweight on bench Strength Level bench.

A sample bulk day for a 75 kg adult

About 3,150 kcal and 164 g of protein, built from USDA values, sitting 12.6% above an assumed 2,800 kcal maintenance.

Maintenance of 2,800 kcal is an editorial assumption; find yours by tracking. A 10 to 20% surplus is 3,080 to 3,360 kcal Iraki 2019, and protein of 1.6 to 2.2 g/kg is 120 to 165 g Morton 2018. USDA energy values listed in kJ were converted at 4.184 kJ per kcal USDA FoodData Central.

One bulk day, raw weights, USDA FoodData Central
Food (raw or as listed)GramsEnergyProteinPriced from site data
Rolled oats, dry120456 kcal15.8 gnot in site data
Whole milk750455 kcal23.6 gnot in site data
Whole eggs (4, at an assumed 50 g each)200286 kcal25.2 g$0.40
White rice, raw2801,024 kcal20.0 gnot in site data
Chicken, raw280336 kcal63.0 g$1.95
Peanut butter64383 kcal14.2 g$0.32
Bananas (2, at an assumed 120 g each)240214 kcal2.6 gnot in site data
Total3,154 kcal164.4 g (2.19 g/kg)$2.67 for priced items

Sources: USDA FoodData Central, Mr Buff US protein data

Prices come from this site's Kroger data (eggs $1.78 for 18, chicken $9.49 for 1,361 g, peanut butter $2.29 for 454 g), read 2026-10-26 Mr Buff US protein data. Oats, milk, rice and bananas are not in the site data, so the $2.67 is not a full day cost. Split into 4 meals about 4 hours apart; the timing detail matters little Helms 2014.

Contest prep: a 16 to 20 week timeline

Lose 0.5 to 1% of bodyweight a week, keep protein high and lifting heavy, and treat peak week as a practiced plan, not a last-minute crash.

Drug-tested Spanish competitors self-reported 27.3 to 28.9 weeks of prep and 11.9 to 14.5 kg lost, about 0.44 to 0.50 kg a week by arithmetic Baz-Valle 2026. The 16 to 20 week window below is a shorter editorial plan for someone who starts prep already lean.

Prep timeline, 75 kg start weight example
Weeks outWeight changeFoodTrainingNotes
20-130.5% a week, 0.375 kgProtein 2.3-3.1 g/kg lean mass, fat 15-30% of kcal3-5 lifting days, 6-12 reps, 70-80% 1RMAdd cardio only if the scale stalls
12-50.5-1%, 0.375-0.75 kgSame; carbs fill the restHit each muscle 2x or more, 40-70 reps per muscle per sessionSlower rate kept lean mass in a trial
8-6Hold or slowOptional refeed or diet break: evidence in athletes is lackingKeep loads, limit failure to single-joint workCommon coaching practice, not tested in trials
4-20.5-1%No new foodsRehearse peak week once, 2-4 weeks beforeCheck mood, sleep, energy
Peak weekScale weight tracked dailyCarbs may reach 10-12 g/kg during loading; do not cut sodium at the same timeTaper volume, cardio off before loadingReview says examples are not prescriptive
ShowFine-tune by water, food and scale responsePump up pre-stageStop dehydrating if urine ceases

Sources: Escalante 2021, Helms 2015, Peos 2019, Garthe 2011, Helms 2014

At a 75 kg start and 0.5 to 1% a week, 16 weeks removes 6.0 to 12.0 kg and 20 weeks 7.5 to 15.0 kg; the upper figures exceed what most lean competitors lose, so stop when conditioned, not when the plan ends (editorial). For a 65 kg lean-mass example, 2.3 to 3.1 g/kg is 150 to 201 g of protein Helms 2014.

  • Avoid severe dehydration and electrolyte manipulation: one review calls it dangerous and possibly no help to appearance Helms 2014.
  • Avoid stacking diuretics on top of water restriction (editorial): the peak-week review describes herbal diuretics and caffeine only as acute options and warns that too much water loss leaves muscles flat Escalante 2021.
  • Do not expect your numbers to match any influencer's: the review states responses vary too much for precise peak-week rules Escalante 2021.
  • Plan the weeks after: one natural group regained 7.9 kg in two months Chappell 2021.

Federations, entry fees and what prep costs

Published federation pages give entry and test fees, but several membership prices were not on the pages read, so those are not quoted.

Published 2026 WNBF fees (natural federation), read 2026-10-27
ItemFeeNote
Pro Worlds entry$300 per categoryCalgary, Nov 21 2026
Amateur Worlds entry$185 per categoryCalgary, Nov 20-21 2026
Polygraph test$80Paid in cash on test day
WNBF membershipprice not stated on the pages readRequired for amateurs and pros
IFBB Pro League cardprice not stated on the page readCard makes membership Active

Sources: IFBB Pro League, WNBF Amateur Worlds 2026, WNBF Pro Worlds 2026

I could not read NPC membership or per-show NPC entry fees on a federation or promoter page, so none are quoted. Posing coaches, tanning and suits were also not priced from a verified page. Ask each promoter for a written fee list before you commit.

Protein cost for an 18-week prep (126 days) at 150 to 201 g a day, this site's US prices
SourcePer day, 150 gPer day, 201 g18 weeks, 150 g18 weeks, 201 g
Eggs (1.65 cents/g)$2.47$3.32$312$418
Chicken (3.44 cents/g)$5.16$6.92$650$872
Whey, Costco (4.53 cents/g)$6.80$9.11$856$1,149

Sources: Mr Buff US protein data

Supplements: what the evidence supports

Creatine monohydrate and caffeine have strong support. Protein powder is convenience. Everything else is optional.

  • Creatine: ISSN calls it the most effective supplement for high-intensity capacity and lean mass; loading is 0.3 g/kg a day for 5 to 7 days, then 3 to 5 g a day, or 3 g a day for 28 days without loading ISSN creatine 2017. At $29.97 per 1 kg and 5 g a day, it costs about $55 a year (200 days x $0.15 is $29.97; 365 x $0.15 = $54.70) BulkSupplements 2026.
  • Caffeine: doses of 3 to 6 mg/kg improve performance, 2 mg/kg may be enough, and the commonest timing is 60 minutes before; very high doses such as 9 mg/kg raise side effects, and the stand advises watching sleep ISSN caffeine 2021.
  • Protein powder: counts toward the same 1.6 to 2.2 g/kg target as food Morton 2018. Costco whey is 4.5 cents/g against 1.6 cents for eggs Mr Buff US protein data.
  • Beta-alanine also had beneficial effects relevant to prep in one review; others warrant more study Helms 2014. I did not price it.

Your first week, step by step

Seven actions, in order, that get you from reading to three logged sessions.

  • Day 1: fill out the PAR-Q+ page 1; if you answer no to all seven, you are cleared for unrestricted activity PAR-Q+ Collaboration.
  • Day 1: pick a gym with a rack, a barbell and dumbbells. Budget plans cost $180 to $240 in year one Mr Buff US gym data.
  • Day 2: do workout A (squat 3x8-12, bench 3x8-12, row 3x8-12, press 2x8-12, curl 2x10-12) with light loads and write down every set.
  • Day 3: weigh yourself on waking and eat to a 120 to 165 g protein target, which is 1.6 to 2.2 g/kg for 75 kg Morton 2018.
  • Day 4: workout B (Romanian deadlift, pulldown, incline press, leg press, pushdown). Rest 2 minutes on the big lifts Schoenfeld 2016 (rest).
  • Day 5: optional: start creatine at 3 to 5 g a day with any meal ISSN creatine 2017.
  • Day 6: workout A again. Add weight only if you hit 12 reps on every set ACSM 2009.
  • Day 7: compare your bodyweight average to day 1. For the bulk, hold calories until you know maintenance (editorial).

Who should check with a doctor first, and who this fits

Screen with the PAR-Q+ before starting; prep is a harder, riskier project than building muscle.

The PAR-Q+ has seven general health questions on page 1; any yes means complete the follow-up pages, and any yes there means medical-exercise screening or a qualified exercise professional PAR-Q+ Collaboration.

  • Fits if you can train 3 to 4 days a week for years and weigh your food. Bodybuilding had the lowest injury rates among weight-training sports in one review Keogh 2017.
  • Think twice about contest prep if you have a history of disordered eating: competitive bodybuilders showed disordered eating, exercise addiction and body-image problems in a 2026 study Moro 2026.
  • Know what prep does: one drug-free competitor's resting metabolic rate fell 519 kcal and free T3 was clinically low across 18 weeks Ritson 2024.
  • Not a fit if you want fast, guaranteed size: no study in this guide follows people from first lift to a set physique size.

The evidence

What the studies say about food, recovery and risk.

What it asks of your diet

  • Protein, off-season

    1.6-2.2 g/kg/day. A meta-regression found no further fat-free-mass gain from protein supplementation above 1.62 g/kg/day; the ISSN stand gives 1.4-2.0 g/kg.

    Sources: Iraki 2019, Morton 2018, ISSN position stand
  • Protein, contest prep

    2.3-3.1 g/kg of lean mass in one review; 1.8-2.7 g/kg for physique athletes in another.

    Sources: Helms 2014, Roberts 2020
  • Energy

    Off-season surplus of about 10-20%. The surplus that maximises growth is unknown, likely smaller for advanced lifters.

    Sources: Iraki 2019, Slater 2019
  • Fat and carbohydrate in prep

    Fat 15-30% of calories in one review, 10-25% in another; carbohydrate fills the rest.

    Sources: Helms 2014, Roberts 2020
  • Training dose

    Each extra weekly set per muscle added 0.37% to percentage muscle gain (34 groups, 15 studies); the upper limit is unknown.

    Sources: Schoenfeld 2017

For a 75 kg adult, 1.6-2.2 g/kg is 120-165 g of protein a day: $1.98-$2.72 at the lowest US cost per 100 g ($1.65, Grade A Large White Eggs at Kroger.com, read Oct 26, 2026). Use the protein per dollar table or the protein calculator for your own weight and budget.

Energy, recovery, pain and mental demand

Recovery and energy

Not quantified for bodybuilding. Athlete sleep reviews report that short sleep impairs strength, endurance and decision-making, and the 2023 IOC consensus statement on REDs describes the health and performance harms of low energy availability.

Sources: Simpson 2017, Vitale 2019, Mountjoy 2023

Pain and injury

No bodybuilding injury rate was found. Strength-sport proxies: 2.4-3.3 injuries per 1,000 training hours in weightlifting, 1.0-4.4 in powerlifting, and a 70% point prevalence of painful conditions in one powerlifting report. Common sites are the knee, lower back and shoulder.

Sources: Lifting injuries 2024, Bonilla 2022

Mental demand

Dietary precision and body image. In a Brazilian fitness centre, 63% of 5,240 members quit before month 3.

Sources: Sperandei 2016

What the body looks like, and why

Bodybuilders grow type I and type II fibres about equally; weightlifters and powerlifters grow type II preferentially (Fry 2004). In one small CT study of 8 men, elite bodybuilders produced less low-speed peak torque per unit of muscle cross-section than controls (Alway 1990).

Sources: Fry 2004, Alway 1990
Muscle for showSize is the product. Both fibre types grow about equally. Cross-section of fibres, schematic. Not to scale. Muscle for forceFast type II fibres grow preferentially; the nervous system drives them harder. Neural drive After 14 weeks of heavy training (15 men): quadriceps force+16%, early force development +26%, with higher neural drive. Type I (slow)Type II (fast)
Muscle for show versus muscle for force: a schematic of the cited fibre-type and neural findings, not a measurement. Sources: Fry 2004, Aagaard 2002, Alway 1990. Fibre-type differences may partly reflect who chooses each sport.

The research behind it

Deeper findings, with sample sizes and limits.

What a hypertrophy week looks like in the data

More weekly sets built more muscle in pooled studies, with flattening returns. Frequency mattered little once total sets were matched.

A 2026 meta-regression pooled 67 studies and 2,058 participants (79% male, mean age about 25). Muscle gain kept rising with weekly set volume but with diminishing returns, and the flattening was clearer for strength than for size Pelland 2026. Frequency showed effects compatible with negligible for hypertrophy, but a consistent benefit for strength Pelland 2026.

An earlier meta-analysis of 10 studies found twice-weekly training beat once-weekly training for size when sets were equated (effect size 0.49 vs 0.30). It could not say whether three sessions beat two Schoenfeld 2016.

  • 67 studiespooled in the 2026 volume and frequency meta-regression (2,058 participants)Pelland 2026
  • 4.7-4.8sessions a week reported by 56 drug-tested Spanish natural competitors in prepBaz-Valle 2026
  • 8-17direct weekly sets per muscle group in that survey, hamstrings lowest, back highestBaz-Valle 2026

The survey is self-reported and cross-sectional, so it shows what these competitors say they do, not what works. Amateurs and professionals did not differ significantly Baz-Valle 2026.

How close to failure

Stopping short of failure grew about as much muscle as going to failure. The evidence is mixed and the pooled studies were mostly short.

A meta-analysis of 15 studies in healthy adults compared sets taken to failure with sets that stopped short. Training to set failure had a trivial edge (effect size 0.19, 95% CI 0.00 to 0.37). Training to momentary muscular failure showed no clear edge (0.12, 95% CI -0.13 to 0.37) Refalo 2023.

Proximity-to-failure comparisons, Refalo 2023
ComparisonEffect size95% CIReading
Set failure vs not0.190.00 to 0.37Trivial edge
Momentary failure vs not0.12-0.13 to 0.37No clear edge
Velocity loss above 25% vs 20-25%0.08-0.16 to 0.32No clear difference

Sources: Refalo 2023

The authors point to a possible non-linear relationship: extra proximity may not always add growth Refalo 2023. The Spanish competitor survey said sets were typically taken to or near failure, but its authors declined to measure reps in reserve because self-report lacks objectivity Baz-Valle 2026.

Contest prep: how long, how fast, what it cost

Real preps run months, not weeks. The few drug-free case data show falling hormones and strength, and small samples carry most of the evidence.

In the Spanish survey, amateurs reported 28.9 weeks of prep and 14.5 kg lost, professionals 27.3 weeks and 11.9 kg. These are self-reports, and about 0.5 to 1% of bodyweight a week would not fit that length of prep neatly Baz-Valle 2026.

A randomized trial of 24 athletes (not described as bodybuilders in the abstract) compared a target loss of 0.7% a week with 1.4%. Intake fell 19% vs 30%. Over 5 to 9 weeks the slower group gained 2.1% lean mass while the faster group's was unchanged (-0.2%) Garthe 2011.

One drug-free bodybuilder was followed for 18 weeks. Bodyweight fell 5.1 kg, resting metabolic rate fell 519 kcal, free T3 reached a clinically low 2.7 pmol/L and total testosterone 9.1 nmol/L. Squat, bench and deadlift 1RM fell 5.4%, 2.6% and 3.6%. Mood held until the last 2 weeks Ritson 2024.

A systematic review of 11 case studies (15 ostensibly drug-free athletes, 8 men and 7 women) found marked changes across body composition, hormones and mood, with large differences between individuals and between sexes Schoenfeld 2023.

After the show

Regain can be fast. Evidence on how best to come back from a contest is thin.

In four drug-free British competitors, mean bodyweight fell 8.6 kg from five months out to the contest and rose 7.9 kg in the two months after. Resting metabolic rate was 1,899, 1,897 and 1,797 kcal at the three time points. Many psychological measures had returned toward baseline by two months Chappell 2021.

In 60 competitors (29 men, 31 women), post-contest binge eating was described as common in both sexes. Reduced libido and sleep problems were reported by both, and menstrual irregularity by women Moro 2026. The abstract gives no percentages.

A scoping review of 12 studies found three proposed recovery strategies: raising intake gradually, eating freely, or returning to maintenance at once. It could not say how long full recovery takes Chica-Latorre 2022.

Performance drugs: how common, what the heart data show

Self-reported steroid use is common enough to shape what a 'natural' physique means, and imaging studies of users show worse heart function.

A meta-analysis of 187 studies and 271 lifetime-use rates put pooled anabolic steroid use at 3.3%: 6.4% in males and 1.6% in females, with very high heterogeneity. Athlete samples scored higher Sagoe 2014. A 2026 meta-analysis of 34 studies using indirect-estimation methods found about 22.6% lifetime use in multi-sport competitive athletes and 15.5% past-year use in single-sport recreational athletes. Neither figure is bodybuilding-specific Sagoe 2026.

An Endocrine Society statement notes that most users are nonathlete weightlifters, often taking high doses and several drugs together Pope 2014.

Heart findings in steroid users and non-users
StudySampleFindingNote
Baggish 2017140 male weightlifters, 86 usersLVEF 52% vs 63%Current users 49%, off-drug 58%
Baggish 2017Same samplePlaque volume median 3 vs 0Rose with years of use
JAMA Netw Open 2025164 recreational athletes, 80 active usersCoronary noncalcified plaque 23.8% vs 10.3%Unadjusted p = .03
JAMA Netw Open 2025Same sampleCarotid and femoral plaque not differentp = .47 and .89

Sources: Baggish 2017, JAMA Netw Open 2025

Both studies are cross-sectional, so they show association. In a 1995 sample of 157 male athletes (83 users), non-users' fat-free mass index reached 25.0 while many users exceeded it Kouri 1995. It is a screening observation from a small, older sample, not a proof of any natural limit.

Injuries, and what the research does not show

Bodybuilding appears to be low-injury among weight sports, but the data are sparse. Several things people ask about have no direct study.

A review of 20 weight-training sport studies, only five at low risk of bias and four prospective, found bodybuilding had the lowest injury rates and strongman the highest. Shoulder, lower back, knee, elbow and wrist or hand were the common sites Keogh 2017.

In a 9-month prospective cohort of 381 recreational weight trainers (62% women, mean age 31.9), 22% reported at least one injury, 1.86 per 1,000 training hours. Lower back (24%), shoulder or neck (20%) and knee (17%) led. Prior injury raised later risk 3.74-fold and training with a partner lowered it by 70% Naderi 2026.

  • No study here follows people from first lift to a set physique size, so years to a given size is not sourced.
  • Competitor surveys and case studies are small (n = 1 to 60); they cannot give a typical response.
  • Drug prevalence among competitive bodybuilders was not found in the studies read.
  • Whether regain after prep is fat, water or muscle was not resolved by the abstracts read Chappell 2021.

Common mistakes

  1. Treating a 500+ kcal surplus as required; the needed surplus is unknown.
  2. Eating far above 1.6-2.2 g/kg for growth; the meta-regression found nothing extra above 1.62 g/kg/day.
  3. Cutting faster than the 0.5-1% of bodyweight a week the reviews give.
  4. Manipulating water and electrolytes in the final days; a contest-prep review calls it dangerous and says it may not improve appearance.
Sources: Slater 2019, Morton 2018, Helms 2014

How this route compares

  • Mental demand: Moderate thin basis
  • Energy-deficit pressure: Moderate
  • Muscle-size emphasis: Very high
  • Documented injury burden: Moderate thin basis

Editorial, 1 to 4, not measurements. The basis for each rating, and the other routes.

Bodybuilding: common questions

How much protein do I need to build muscle?

A meta-regression found no further fat-free-mass gain from protein supplementation above 1.62 g/kg/day (Morton 2018); a review of off-season nutrition gives 1.6-2.2 g/kg/day (Iraki 2019). Use the protein calculator for grams a day and cost.

How fast should a cut be?

About 0.5-1% of bodyweight a week in a contest-prep review (Helms 2014); 0.5% or less in a newer one (Roberts 2020).

Do bigger muscles always mean more strength?

Not necessarily. A 2019 perspective argues there is no experimental evidence that muscle growth is a mechanism for strength gain, although size and strength correlate across people (Loenneke 2019). The myth check shows how strength scales with bodyweight.

Sources

54 sources read for this page
  1. Iraki et al. 2019: Nutrition Recommendations for Bodybuilders in the… accessed
  2. Helms et al. 2014: Evidence-based recommendations for natural bodybuilding… accessed
  3. Roberts et al. 2020: Nutritional Recommendations for Physique Athletes accessed
  4. Morton et al. 2018: A systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression of… accessed
  5. Slater et al. 2019: Is an Energy Surplus Required to Maximize Skeletal Muscle… accessed
  6. Schoenfeld et al. 2017: Dose-response relationship between weekly resistance… accessed
  7. International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: protein and exercise… Open-access full text; accessed
  8. Strength Level: strength standards and dataset description Community lift database; accessed
  9. Fry et al. 2004: The role of resistance exercise intensity on muscle fibre… accessed
  10. Alway et al. 1990: Muscle cross-sectional area and torque in resistance-trained… accessed
  11. Sperandei et al. 2016: Adherence to physical activity in an unsupervised… accessed
  12. Injuries in weightlifting and powerlifting: an updated systematic review (2024) accessed
  13. Bonilla et al. 2022: Exercise Selection and Common Injuries in Fitness Centers… accessed
  14. Mountjoy et al. 2023: 2023 International Olympic Committee consensus statement… accessed
  15. Simpson et al. 2017: Optimizing sleep to maximize performance: implications and… accessed
  16. Vitale et al. 2019: Sleep Hygiene for Optimizing Recovery in Athletes: Review… accessed
  17. Aagaard et al. 2002: Increased rate of force development and neural drive of… accessed
  18. The Resistance Training Dose Response: Meta-Regressions Exploring the Effects… Journal article or official page; accessed
  19. Effects of Resistance Training Frequency on Measures of Muscle Hypertrophy: A… Journal article or official page; accessed
  20. Training Practices Among Spanish Natural Elite Bodybuilders in the Pre-Contest… Journal article or official page; accessed
  21. Influence of Resistance Training Proximity-to-Failure on Skeletal Muscle… Journal article or official page; accessed
  22. Effect of two different weight-loss rates on body composition and strength and… Journal article or official page; accessed
  23. From semi-starvation to the stage: a case report on indicators of low energy… Journal article or official page; accessed
  24. Alterations in Measures of Body Composition, Neuromuscular Performance… Journal article or official page; accessed
  25. Biopsychosocial Effects of Competition Preparation in Natural Bodybuilders Journal article or official page; accessed
  26. Between Aesthetics and Health: Disordered Eating, Exercise Addiction, and Body… Journal article or official page; accessed
  27. After the spotlight: are evidence-based recommendations for refeeding… Journal article or official page; accessed
  28. The global epidemiology of anabolic-androgenic steroid use: a meta-analysis and… Journal article or official page; accessed
  29. Doping Prevalence in Sport from Indirect Estimation Models: A Systematic Review… Journal article or official page; accessed
  30. Adverse health consequences of performance-enhancing drugs: an Endocrine… Journal article or official page; accessed
  31. Cardiovascular Toxicity of Illicit Anabolic-Androgenic Steroid Use Journal article or official page; accessed
  32. Illicit Anabolic Steroid Use and Cardiovascular Status in Men and Women Journal article or official page; accessed
  33. Fat-free mass index in users and nonusers of anabolic-androgenic steroids Journal article or official page; accessed
  34. The Epidemiology of Injuries Across the Weight-Training Sports Journal article or official page; accessed
  35. Psychological Factors as Predictors of Sports Injuries in Weight Trainers: A… Journal article or official page; accessed
  36. American College of Sports Medicine position stand. Progression models in… Journal article or official page; accessed
  37. Longer interset rest periods enhance muscle strength and hypertrophy in… Journal article or official page; accessed
  38. Recommendations for natural bodybuilding contest preparation: resistance and… Journal article or official page; accessed
  39. This site's US gym fee data (chain and YMCA club pages), read 2026-10-26 Journal article or official page; accessed
  40. This site's US protein price data (Kroger.com, Costco.com), read 2026-10-26 Journal article or official page; accessed
  41. Bench press strength standards, male, bodyweight table (community-reported) Journal article or official page; accessed
  42. Deadlift strength standards, male, bodyweight table (community-reported) Journal article or official page; accessed
  43. Squat strength standards, male, bodyweight table (community-reported) Journal article or official page; accessed
  44. USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy entries 173904 (oats), 171287 (egg), 169756… Journal article or official page; accessed
  45. Peak week recommendations for bodybuilders: an evidence based approach Journal article or official page; accessed
  46. Intermittent dieting: theoretical considerations for the athlete Journal article or official page; accessed
  47. IFBB Pro League pro card page Journal article or official page; accessed
  48. 2026 WNBF Amateur Worlds athlete application (entry and polygraph fees) Journal article or official page; accessed
  49. 2026 WNBF Pro Worlds 37 athlete application (entry and polygraph fees) Journal article or official page; accessed
  50. BulkSupplements creatine monohydrate powder, listed prices by size Journal article or official page; accessed
  51. Optimum Nutrition micronized creatine powder (5 g per serving), listed price Journal article or official page; accessed
  52. International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy… Journal article or official page; accessed
  53. International society of sports nutrition position stand: caffeine and exercise… Journal article or official page; accessed
  54. The PAR-Q+: the international standard for pre-participation screening Journal article or official page; accessed

Abstracts read through Europe PMC on Oct 26, 2026; full texts were not read unless noted.

Not medical advice. Published research, summarised for general information. Speak to a doctor or qualified coach before changing training, food or weight.

Keep exploring

Topics: Fitness journeysBulkingProteinStrengthRecoveryInjury