Protein per dollar
Meat and fish in the US: price per gram of protein
12 products ranked by what 100 g of protein costs, from $3.44.
Lowest cost on this list
Frozen Raw Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
Kroger · Kroger.com
$3.44 per 100 g of protein
- $9.49 for 3 lb
- 276 g of protein in the pack
- 52% below the median of 52 products
| Product | Pack | Price | Protein in pack | Cost per 100 g protein | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Frozen Raw Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastsKroger · Kroger.com |
3 lb | $9.49 | 276 g | $3.44 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Fresh Natural Pork Loin Chops BonelessKroger · Kroger.com |
1 ct (weight varies) | $5.00 | 110 g | $4.55 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Price per package as shown ($4.00/lb); package weight not stated so packG omitted. |
Harvestland Individually Wrapped Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastPerdue · Kroger.com |
2.25 lb | $12.00 | 225 g | $5.33 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $10.00 sale. Serving '4 Ounces' (grams not stated). |
93/7 Lean Fresh Ground TurkeyKroger · Kroger.com |
1 lb | $5.49 | 88 g | $6.24 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Serving '4 ONZ' (grams not stated); raw weight. |
Premium Chicken Breast Chunk in WaterKroger · Kroger.com |
5 oz can | $1.39 | 19 g | $7.32 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $1.29 sale. Serving is 3 oz drained; packG is full can weight. |
Korean BBQ Flavor Marinated Shaved PorkPrivate Selection · Kroger.com |
1.31 lb | $10.00 | 115 g | $8.70 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
Deli Fresh Oven Roasted Turkey Breast, Thin SlicedOscar Mayer · Kroger.com |
9 oz | $4.29 | 41 g | $10.59 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $3.99 sale. |
Fresh Farm Raised Atlantic Salmon Fillet PortionKroger · Kroger.com |
16 oz | $12.00 | 92 g | $13.04 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). |
Wild Pacific Salmon FilletAqua Star · Kroger.com |
1.25 lb | $17.48 | 115 g | $15.20 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $9.99 sale. Only the $9.99 sale and the $17.48 'was' price shown. |
Original Beef JerkyJack Link's · Kroger.com |
8 oz | $13.79 | 80 g | $17.24 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $12.69 sale. Serving '1 ONZ' (grams not stated). 'About' servings figure from the panel. |
White Premium Chunk Canned Chicken Breast in WaterSwanson · Kroger.com |
12.5 oz can | $5.29 | 30 g | $17.63 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $4.49 sale. Serving is 3 oz drained; packG is full can weight. |
Albacore Wild TunaWild Planet · Kroger.com |
5 oz can | $5.99 | 33 g | $18.15 | Retailer pageRead 2026-10-26NotesKroger.com, store context Rolla MO pickup (prices vary by store). Regular price shown; page also showed $4.99 sale. Serving is the whole can (142 g). |
No products match those filters.
Scope: 52 products ranked, by retailer: Kroger.com 45 (one store context: Rolla MO pickup), Trader Joe's 6, MyProtein US 1. Prices read Oct 26, 2026; store prices vary, so this is a sample and not a store-wide or national price index. 16 Costco.com items whose page reported out of stock are not ranked.
What the numbers show for meat and fish
- $3.44cheapest per 100 g
- $9.64median per 100 g
- $18.15priciest per 100 g
- 12products
12 products in this category from 1 retailer. The cheapest source of protein is Frozen Raw Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts at Kroger.com ($3.44 per 100 g of protein); the priciest is Albacore Wild Tuna ($18.15). The median is $9.64, against $7.22 across all categories.
Five cheapest products
- Frozen Raw Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastsKroger.com$3.44
- Fresh Natural Pork Loin Chops BonelessKroger.com$4.55
- Harvestland Individually Wrapped Boneless Skinless Chicken BreastKroger.com$5.33
- 93/7 Lean Fresh Ground TurkeyKroger.com$6.24
- Premium Chicken Breast Chunk in WaterKroger.com$7.32
Trust and safety record
Public records about the retailers and brands on this page, each with its source and the date we accessed it (Oct 26, 2026). They are not ratings or endorsements, and a brand missing here is not a clean bill of health: the search was done once and is not exhaustive. How we use these sources, and their limits.
Retailers
- Kroger
Apple App Store, “Kroger” (The Kroger Co.): 4.77 average from 1,309,221 ratings, accessed Oct 26, 2026. Rating is for the mobile app, not the business. App Store page.
FDA enforcement report: at least 100 records whose product description contains “Kroger” (64 classified Class I, 32 Class II), dated 2012-06-27 to 2026-08-19. A record is one product entry in the FDA’s enforcement report, and one recall event usually produces many records; it describes a past recall classification, not the product on sale today. FDA records are mostly third-party suppliers recalling product sold under/at Kroger; query capped at 100 of 192 total. openFDA query, accessed Oct 26, 2026.
Reviews elsewhere (links only): Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play.
FDA enforcement report records by brand
Each row counts records in the FDA’s enforcement report whose product description contains the brand name. A record is one product entry; a single recall event usually produces many records (class definitions: FDA recall classes). Records for a brand can describe a supplier or co-packer’s product sold under that name, and one match can be for a different product from the one ranked here. Records describe past recall classifications, not products on sale today.
| Brand | Records | Class I | Dates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Private Selection | 22 | 16 | 2012-06-27 to 2024-12-04 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Oscar Mayer | 2 | 0 | 2019-07-31 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Aqua Star | 3 | 0 | 2013-08-14 to 2025-09-24 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
| Swanson | 6 | 2 | 2012-11-28 to 2022-03-23 | openFDA queryaccessed Oct 26, 2026 |
Reviews elsewhere, links only: Trustpilot · BBB · Google Play · Amazon. We do not copy review text or scores from these sites.
Keep exploring
- Cheapest protein per gram: 52 US products comparedRank protein sources by cost per gram before you buy.
- Protein calculator: grams a day and what it costsTurn a grams-per-kilogram range into grams a day and a daily cost.
- How to compare protein by cost per gramCompare protein by cost per gram: price divided by…
- Bodybuilding journey: bulk, cut and what muscle for show costsStage-by-stage bulk and cut route to a muscular…